Thursday, February 6, 2014

Nature girl vs Ken Ham and Bill Nye

Let me start out by saying that I love debates, I am naturally argumentative, and I adore intellectual discussions. The debate at the Creationist Museum almost didn't qualify as either.  This is a topic that is near and dear to my heart because I believe in intelligent design, AND I am a happy science nerd!

The arguments of both sides were deeply flawed and missed HUGE key points and supports for both sides! Given the position of both these men in their respective communities I frankly, expected more.

Here is the link to the original debate...obviously, my thoughts follow.




Now, I know that this is going to spark a lot of e-mails from my deeply religious friends, but that's ok, this is something that should be talked about.  The topic was whether Creationism is a viable method of human origin to be taught to school children.

Let's start with Mr. Ken Ham.

First, I never would have picked a Young Earth Creationist (YEC) to debate Bill Nye. There is SO much that is left to faith in the young earth model that a persistent atheist (like Mr. Nye) would have no problem showing all the un-backed scientific holes! But aside from that, Mr. Ham left out key points, got MAJORLY off topic, and made assumptions about the Bible that aren't there to make! Much like the assumptions that he accused secular scientists of making!

Second, he spoke often on the differences between Darwinism and Creation "trees of life" and yet completely ignored the fact that Darwin was deeply faithful, and was trying to explain the bible in scientific terms! Now I'm not a Darwin expert, but his "warm pond" theory, to me, never negated the potential for divine intervention. Nothing offered by either side eliminated the possibility that they could both be correct.

Third, unless I missed something about the original question, nothing about the origins of morality, definition of marriage, or the fact that some proponents of YEC are highly educated is valid or relevant to discussing the viability of YEC as an education source. Morality is a faith AND societally based construct. Morays, taboos, and social structure were all in existence BEFORE Christianity as a cornerstone of the process of "civilization". The only thing that Judaism/Christianity did was define a set of rules for a subsection of the population based on an emerging religion. The definition of marriage is for me tough because I see it as a religious tem not a socio/political term. As it stands today it is interchangeable...but now I'm off topic. The ludacris implied statement that YEC is a viable scientific theory to teach children because there are lots of scientists who made big contributions to technology who believe it should have gotten him laughed off the stage, but it only gave Mr. Nye cannon fodder.

Finally, Mr. Ham walked straight into the line of fire when he admitted that some parts of the bible are to be taken literally, and some is poetry or stories. The argument that the bible can be taken literally at any point (from his comments on historical science) implies that the bible was written as the contained events occurred. All biblical scholars know that the bible was written by different authors, sometimes years after events occurred! In the case of Genesis, it was written generations later, even if you espouse YEC!

And now for Mr. Nye

If it is possible, I am more disappointed in Mr. Nye than in Mr. Ham.  As a scientist there is nothing that should be excluded from creating the best possible theory. True, you can't TEST divinity, but if it fits into the data collected as an option...it is viable.

While Mr. Nye did a much better job of staying on topic his blanket disregard for the possibility of intelligent design was, to use his word, unsettling. He also harped on the need for children and young adults to be "scientists" implying the exclusion of faith and reliance on pure science to find answers that are metaphysical at one end, and existential at the other, also...not relevant to the debate topic! He also fell victim to emotional appeals and personal instead of topical debate.

The idea of intelligent design is not ludacris, it's a belief, like science. His blatant dismissal (though I applaud him for admitting the unknowns of science, "what came before the big bang?") of a possibility that the earth is younger than he thinks and might be constructed by something else, is exceptionally maddening. For Mr. Nye it is apparently completely irrational that some unknown force may have compressed rock layers, or increased the reproductive capacity of  animals after the ark to cause a boom in population growth, or spoke the universe into being. And that is what a scientist is supposed to do, find an idea and see if the data contradicts it! Not declare impossibility and reject out of hand.

As did Mr. Ham, Mr. Nye decided to make an unnecessary and inaccurate statement about how educated people validate the system. While Mr. Nye admitted that there are faithful people who are scientists he continued to call for more students to pursue science, invent things and solve problems as if somehow YEC were unable to do that! And while YEC, believers of intelligent design, and secular scientists all believe different things, that has no bearing on the individual's ability to contribute to the scientific community!

I personally found Mr. Nye's persistent "dumbing down" of scientific processes inappropriate and out of place. The people in that audience know that there is no sound in space, we don't need a silent analogy of the big bang. There is also no need to bring a fossil found by the side of the road, to explain a fossil record. Finally, personally, I don't need a description of the evolutionary process of being a simple to complex method...that's what evolution is! Just because intelligent design to you means perfect from the start and then adaptation, doesn't mean that is the only interpretation!

The thing that bothered me the most...about both arguments...is that they completely ignore the concept of God's time (here is a great philosophical paper on if God is bound by time...or above it) and here is a bible verse reflecting on conquering impossibility (Luke 18:27)! Any scientist who dismisses a possibility because it seems rediculous or impossible should turn in his degree! And any man of faith who doesn't acknowledge that the impossible is what makes God...well God...is missing the point!

I hope that the debate...and maybe this...inspires people to ask questions, clarify their thoughts, and maybe be willing to accept the validity of an impossibility as an option. 

...Nature girl

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Nature girl vs the peeves

I have often been prone to bouts of peevishness, melodrama, and temper tantrums...just ask my Mom, Dad and sister who managed to survive my childhood and adolescence.

Last night I lay in bed, completely unable to get comfortable (no thanks to the dog stretched out from my heels to my tush), or drowsy, and getting more and more irrationally irritated at my darling hubby who was only trying to go through his normal routine of falling asleep. He reads the same three pages over and over because he falls asleep halfway through the pages and starts over at the top. This is normal, it happens every night, and I usually put on a sleeping mask and get over it.

For some reason last night every page turn was irritating, the light was irritating, the dog was making me hot, the food wasn't put away from dinner, EVERYTHING was a major violation of what I wanted to have happen!

This is not my most shining quality. I understand that I completely take leave of my brain sometimes and I can usually ground myself again and laugh it off, but it has bled over into today. Probably because I didn't sleep much more than two winks. In my head I am laying on the floor kicking and screaming and having a full blown temper tantrum that would make a two year old take notes! 

Instead, I am rocking in my desk chair and writing...much less satisfying.

When my black moods bleed over into days two and three, that is usually when I seek out my girlfriends for coffee, or a trashy tv date, or a cookie date, or a dinner with my borrowed nieces or nephews and family, that will usually snap me back to reality.

Being so far is not helping my mood, and I never developed other coping mechanisms.

Now the sane part of me tells me that this is the perfect time to develop new life skills, the childish side is flipping the bird. I think the temper tantrum is winning.

...Nature girl

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Chapstick vs. Lip Saver

It's been a while since I did an Arbonne post and today seemed appropriate because I can't find my Arbonne Lip Saver, ie. a chap stick.

Now ChapStick was a staple through my whole childhood! I remember crossings to Catalina and the smell of original ChapStick, you know the one...black label with white script.


My Dad used to put it on us when we sat for hours on the bow of the boat, so we wouldn't come back in with...chapped lips.

As I got older the Wild Cherry took preference, and then lip gloss and then Carmex, and an assortment of other products. What I didn't realize is that there was already something on the market that did what I needed, I just didn't know about it!


I have this habbit...I chew on my lips when I'm concentrating, or nervous, or even absently thinking! My lip saver is literaly my LIP Saver! I don't bite my lips because it smells good, my lips are softer and don't peel or crack, and the feel of it is just so smooth going on!

My Arbonne lip saver is now my go to everything stick. If I need help with chapping or cracking lips, a good base for my lipstick, or a little bit of shine my lip saver does it all! AND it does it all with a good smell and no waxy feeling!

 Now this is starting to feel a little like a commercial, but just to put it in perspective, I own two (maybe three) of these because I believe in it that much. It has a SPF 30 for my lips, a great feel and a non-girly smell so I don't feel bad kissing the hubby! Now he doesn't get left sparkly and smelling like fruit. This should be in every pocket or purse of kids and adults...to good to pass up!

...Nature girl

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Geckos are hell spawn

Years ago on a trip to Tahiti, I laughed with a friend about geckos.  Not in the way you might think though, we laughed about their sinister nature, and their ability to torture people.

"But geckos are so cute and exotic", some say. I say you tend to stop thinking of them as cute and exotic when they keep you up all night with that infernal chirping, or fly at you at Mach 2 while you are naked in a shower.

Tonight I was prompted to write this because there is a gecko living in the air conditioning unit in our room... And it is making the sound.

I hate the chirp. I loathe their little incessant communications. The fact that I don't sleep very well seems to have no effect on the nightly chorus drifting from the air conditioning.

It isn't consistent, it has no pattern, and it always starts just as I drop off to sleep, yanking me back to consciousness. Geckos are Satans little minions.

I go through phases in my death wishes for them, sometimes I am even mildly supportive of their presence, eating the creepy crawlers of the tropics. But tonight I wish them ALL a 
firey death, or a bird death, or a death of rats death, or even a cat death (which is slow and usually involves the loss of a tail).

... Nature assassin 

Saturday, January 4, 2014

I feel the need, the need for sweets!

For me there is nothing better than a dish of ice cream, or pudding, or cobbler (I love cobbler). In a fix a candy bar, or a cupcake will do it, but if it's sweet, chances are it's an easy sell for me.

I have had this need for sweets since I was tiny, just ask my Mom! She has lost more See's candy than she may know to my voracious sweet tooth. The only problem is now that I have crossed that 30 year mark, I feel like my sweet tooth hasn't diminished but my wardrobe's ability to compensate has. 

I have been trying to eat healthier for months, and though I have been better about getting all my fruits and veggies in, the intake of desserts hasn't really slowed down. I was talking to the hubbs about my dilemma and I have decided to try and wean myself off. He and I have a tentative arrangement for me to only have one dessert a day.  You see, I would be happiest with a sweet breakfast, a dessert for lunch and one for after dinner too.

My goal is to get down to 3 treats per week. Even writing that makes me shudder, but it needs to be done. My Mom is pre diabetic, and my Uncle is full blown diabetic, it's in my blood to not handle sugar well! So far so good but I've only been at this for a few days.

My plan right now is to sub out unhealthy desserts with no redeeming value, for more nutritionally dense choices. Yogurt with some fruit or nuts, Lara bars in delicious flavors, or just a serving size of GF cookies (ie 1...maybe 2) instead of the handful that is my M.O.

So I am putting it out there to the inter webs.... Any great healthy desserts to help beat a sweet tooth?

....Nature girl

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

New years traditions

Everyone has something that they do for new years. Some little tradition, or habit, or a silly little mark of the new year. I have three and I won't be able to do two of them this year, this is going to be really strange.

The one that really starts it off for me is Joshua Tree with my peeps. We drive out and camp in the desert for a week, rock climbing, hiking, and brushing off the stress of the last year. It is cleansing and rejuvenating at the same time, and as a side bonus I usually loose about 5 pounds. This year I'm in HI...two thousand miles away from that beautiful trip and I feel every mile.

In an effort to reclaim some of that rest, I'm taking the pup with me hiking tomorrow. Supposedly there are some really beautiful trails on Oahu, and I'm setting off to find one that I like...keep me in your prayers so I don't die or get horribly lost.

The second thing is a silly thing. I always watch the Rose Parade in my PJs. Sometimes my sister or Mom is there but Mom usually watches it live, I watch it when I come back from  camping. Today I watched it on YouTube, on the right day, but sadly in work clothes. However there was a distinct lack of sister or parent, and it seemed a little less fun and silly, and there was no popcorn. What there was, was gorgeous floats, silly bands (yes, I'm talking about you Stamford) and beautiful horses!

It is always astonishing to see the designers bring seeds, flowers and grasses to life as animals and this year two really blew my mind - Indonesia and the one by the financial company "So close and yet So-fari". The silly factor was hit dead on with the Trader Joe's cheese city, and Public Storage's aliens. And as always some made me cry...thanks so much City of Hope. You and all your wishing trees made me get all teary, and I didn't have any tissues.

The last thing I do every year to ring in the new year is take the train with my sister, friends and nieces up to Chinatown for Chinese New Year. We shop, we eat at the same little Pho restaurant, see the parade, and end the day on Olivera street buying sweets off of the street vendors and their colorful carts. 

Oahu has a Chinatown, and I hear the new year is a big deal, but somehow I just don't think it will be the same. It is so much fun to spend time with the girls, and see all the dancers and pageantry, somehow I don't think I will experience it quite the same way by myself - but I'm going to try. Maybe there will be food trucks, or little trinkets I can buy to send home to them, I will have to explore...I love to explore.

As much as it feels different this year, the new year has started and will continue without my markers of time. I guess it is time to forge ahead and create new markers, try new things, and see new places...even though my heart is in the dessert, or in my PJs, or on a train in another city, I guess it will just have to catch up.

...Nature girl

Thursday, December 19, 2013

A Dynasty of Crafts

Duck Dynasty and Hobby Lobby...that is supposedly current events...so sad.

That being said, the fact that everyone seems to be talking about one or the other (sometimes both), made me actually go and read multiple articles on both topics.

Hobby Lobby vs Obamacare (this has been going on for a while)

I am very split on this issue, but if I am objective it isn't really an issue, there is a very simple solution. Can a corporation entity claim the rights of an individual? Even from my hands off Libertarian stance I can't make that one work. Corporations employ thousands, and sometimes hundreds of thousands of people of different creeds.  Religion cannot dictate hiring OR firing practices so why should it be able to dictate health care...even poorly designed government health care.

Companies can be founded and run on deeply religious ethics (Chick fil A, In and Out, and Hobby Lobby) but you cannot affect the employees choices because of the founding ethics of the company. It infringes on the personal liberties of the individual and their ability to determine their own plan of care.

I am deeply faithful, and happen to support the Green's (Hobby Lobby's founding family) assessment that the morning after pill and some kinds of IUD's are actually abortion methods, but that is a personal belief. I would never propose a mandate that would define another person's right to make decisions about their care.

There are a few good articles about this issue if you want to read up on it, here are the links
CNN
Huffington Post
LA times

Moving on...

Duck Dynasty...really?!

In this day of reality TV, are we really surprised that some old redneck said something racial or inappropriate? That's what you get A&E! If you put opinionated people out there, they are going to spew their opinions...whatever they may be...all over the screen or page.

This isn't an important political figure, royalty, or even a charity worker! He's an old man, with old school values and no filter on his speech. He has a right to say whatever he wants to whoever he wants. And they have a choice to print it, film it, agree with it, or disagree with it! GQ printed an article, because they knew it would cause a stir, or because they agreed with it, doesn't matter what the reason they printed it...and yet Phil is getting lambasted.

This is not a story, get over it and move on, the man's too old to change now, and he's just living his life....agree or disagree and get on with life.

I am continually surprised by what gets the focus in social media and the news, you want to know what is really going on in the world around us? Check these two out, and tell me what is REALLY important.

BBC- Human species find
CNN- Surveillance program

...Nature girl