I have failed myself today.
Well, If I'm honest, I failed myself a few days ago, when I tried to open a pomegranate in a white shirt.
I got this beautiful pomegranate and I thought, "these can't be that hard to eat" and I started to peel and pick at tiny bright red seeds, feeling very like Persephone. And then I remembered the end of that myth. The stained fingers, the six seeds, and I looked down at my nice white shirt that now looked like a murder scene...yep, fail.
It has taken me a few days, a google search and a conversation with my friend, and her daughter (my niece), to figure out how to peel one of these stubborn not-so-little fruits. Conclusion...how on earth do you eat it? Is this like a passion fruit, where you don't really "eat" it per se, you just use the juice? I have all these little pods, with great color and flavor, and yet one POP! and there is a seed. Do you eat the seed??
I think I am going to continue to enjoy pomegranates in their whole form, in decorations; their tangy yet rich flavors in juices, that others go to the trouble of producing (though if I put this on a roast...or duck...yipes). And in Arbonne's Mandarin Pomegranate line which is just sumptuous. I also hear rumors that there is a really good pomegranate chocolate out there. My exploration continues...
...Nature Girl

No comments:
Post a Comment